Our Structure

The government in Scotland is structured into a number of directorates. Directorates and their related public bodies are responsible for putting government policy into practice.

The Scottish Government

  • 1 Permanent Secretary
  • 8 Director General
  • 45+ Directorates

The Permanent Secretary is the senior civil servant in Scotland. The Permanent Secretary supports the government in developing, implementing and communicating its policies.

Directors-general & directorates

There are eight directors-general who head up the Scottish civil service. A director-general manages a number of directorates and agencies which are responsible for proposing legislation and putting Scottish Government policy into practice.

Executive Agencies

Non-ministerial departments are headed by senior civil servants. Executive agencies are part of the Scottish Government and generally have a strong focus on the management and direct delivery of public services, but can also provide strategic policy input.